DTIS
2004
DTIS update
2012
WTO accession
2013

 With EIF's support Lao PDR has developed a Trade and Private Sector Development Roadmap, which has served as the main instrument for their Aid for Trade harmonization, resource mobilization, and coordination efforts. Within the framework of the implementation of the EIF, Lao PDR has successfully leveraged trade‑related priorities, including a total of 16 projects totalling US$68 million. The analytical work has been used to enhance Lao PDR’s diversification of exports into sectors with high social impacts in order to ensure that trade has a positive impact on improving the livelihoods of the poor. As a result, donors have been supporting Lao PDR’s trade goals through a multi-donor trust fund, the Trade Development Facility.

 

MOU
25/02/10
Budget
1'446'514
End date
31/03/16

The objective of the project is to enhance Lao PDR’s national capacity to formulate, implement, manage, and monitor a pro-poor trade policy that is consistent with the country’s National Socio‐Economic Development Plan (NSEDP).

Results:

  • A Capacity Needs Assessment and Skills Development Action Plan was completed in April 2015 after data collection sessions were held in the 12 departments of the Department of Industry and Commerce of the Ministry of Industry and Commerce (MoIC). The assessment has identified the training priority levels for the staff and the most needed training topics.
  • Lao PDR hosted a study visit from Bhutanese officials in January 2015 who wanted to learn about Lao PDR's Trade and Private Sector Development Roadmap in order to realize their own potential EIF Tier 2 projects. Hosting the Bhutanese delegation was an important way for Lao PDR to demonstrate the capacity that has been built through the EIF.
  • 45 participants, including NIU technicians, participated in a workshop on investment climate assessment presented by the World Bank in 2014.
  • A meeting was held in January 2015 to discuss more effective ways to increase coordination following a comprehensive review of the overall Aid for Trade governance structure, including the Sector Working Group (SWG); the Project Executive Committee (PEC); and the Project Review Committee (PRC).
  • The PRC held its first meeting in August 2015 with 85 participants. The Chair and Co-chair requested relevant IAs to revise their work plans to include re-prioritization of activities, especially workshops and study visits.
  • The draft of the Development Trade and Industry Development Plan (5-year plan) for the 8th National Socio-Economic Development Plan has been prepared and will be finalized in early 2016. This strategy will contain clear development goals and detailed interventions.
  • The Trade and Private Sector Working Group met in June and October 2015, and EIF National Implementation Unit (NIU)-IA meetings were held quarterly in 2015.
  • 53 people participated in a 4-day NIU fiduciary workshop in July 2015. The objectives of the meeting were to enhance staffs’ understanding on basic principles of financial and procurement management regulations as well as to exchange lessons learnt.
  • In 2015 meetings were held with development partners including UKAID, UNCTAD and KOICA with the goal of securing additional resources for DTIS Action Matrix priorities.
  • A new communications strategy was prepared by an international consultant outlining how to increase NIU visibility, promote trade mainstreaming, and transfer knowledge. Following the completion of the strategy, communications officers from the MoIC and IAs in other ministries participated in a workshop.
MOU
09/12/13
Budget
2'520'350
End date
30/06/18

The National Quality Infrastructure component assists Lao PDR in building the national standardization system, developing a national metrology system to ensure the uniformity and traceability of measurements, building technical infrastructure for accreditation; achieving mutual recognition of accreditation and certification results, and creating private sector awareness of the importance and benefits of implementing international quality standards.

The industrial statistics component will be useful for researchers, analysts, observers, policy makers, development planners, potential investors, and business persons dealing with industrial development in Lao PDR. Manufacturers will also benefit greatly from reliable statistical information.

 Results:

National Quality Infrastructure

  • 50 people from line ministries, government agencies, industry and the Department of Standardization and Metrology (DSM) participated in a training course in Vientiane in October 2015 focusing on the international requirements for standardization and the role of the National Standards Council in the development of standards.
  • The procurement and calibration of lab equipment for the Metrology Center began in 2015.
  • 48 participants in the Xiengkhounag province attended a training on internal audit to ensure that the labs are conformant to international standards.
  • 25 people who would be assigned by the DSM as Assessors of Accreditation participated in the following courses: Internal Calibration Course (2 days), Uncertainty Calibration Course (2 days), Lead Assessor Course (5 days).
  • 169 participants learned the role and importance of standardization and metrology during three workshops in Xaysomboon province, Sekong province and Xiengkhouang province in 2015.
  • 5 people have been appointed to the Lao Quality Center , whose work is to establish the conformance of products or services against specifications, regulations, performance requirements, and the like. 
  • 11 delegates from the DSM participated in a study visit to Thailand in May 2015. The Lao PDR Delegation had an opportunity to learn about Personnel Development on Laboratory Accreditation and Standards, and observe the practices of the National Institute of Metrology (Thailand). 

Industrial Statistics

  • All the equipment for the Vientiane and provincial statistical offices of the Department of Industry and Handicrafts (DoIH), Ministry of Industry and Commerce, were procured. This will support the capacity building of the country in hardware for industrial statistics.
  • 10 participants went on a study tour to Thailand to learn from industrial statisticians about their practices and experiences.
  • Training provided to provincial statisticians both in May 2015 on input data system design with tabulation with MS for DoIH statisticians.
  • 40 participants (DoIH teams and provincial statisticians) participated in a two‑day training in June 2015 covering basic statistics, industrial statistics, and industrial index field enumeration, data collection and data input.

Sonevilay Pheangthavanh
Trade Officer National Implementation Unit Department of Planning and Cooperation Ministry of Industry and Commerce Vientiane
Sonevilay.ph@laomoic.org

Viengxay Praphasiri
M&E Officer National Implementation Unit Department of Planning and Cooperation Ministry of Industry and Commerce Vientiane
Viengxay.p@laosaft.org

Phouvieng PHONGSA
Deputy Director Department of Planning and Cooperation, and EIF Focal Point Ministry of Industry and Commerce
phouvieng.p@laomoic.org

Sodavanh Souvannaphoum
sodavanh.s@laomoic.org

Bryan Fornari
Donor Facilitator, Delegation of the European Union to Lao PDR
Delegation-laos@eeas.europa.eu

Kavin Saiyavong
Deputy Director Division Ministry of Industry and Commerce, Department of Planning and Cooperation, Development Planning Division
kavin.s@laomoic.org

Bryan Fornari
Head of Cooperation - Delegation of the European Union to Lao PDR
Bryan.FORNARI@eeas.europa.eu

Kalakate Xaythanith
Programme Officer Trade & Economics - Delegation of the European Union to Lao PDR
Kalakate.XAYTHANITH@eeas.europa.eu

Franck Caussin
International Project Coordinator - UN Trade Cluster Project
FrankC@unops.org

Amphaphone Thongsawath
Procurement Officer Ministry of Industry and Commerce
amphaphone.t@laosaft.org

Lattanaphone Vongsouthi
Deputy Director of Foreign Aid Division - Ministry of Industry and Commerce
lattanaphone.v@laomoic.org

Somsanith Ninthavong
International Project Operations Advisor - Ministry of Industry and Commerce
somsanith.n@laosaft.org

Pinphakone Xayavong
Trade Analyst - Ministry of Industry and Commerce
pinphakone.x@laosaft.org

Lienthong Souphany
Director of Division Planning Department - Ministry of Planning and Investment
lsouphany@yahoo.com

Phetlamngeun Phommachanh
National Financial Specialist - Department of Planning and Cooperation - Ministry of Industry and Commerce
phetlamngeun.p@laosaft.org

Matthew B. Younger
Political-Economic Officer, Commercial Officer - Embassy of the United States of America
YoungerMB@state.gov

Silavanh Vongphosy
Programme Specialist in Poverty Reduction and Development Effectiveness/ Acting Head of Poverty Reduction Unit - UNDP
silavong.vongphosy@undp.org

Nick Maddock
Senior Technical Adviser Ministry of Planning & Investment - Department of Planning - UNDP
nicholas.maddock@undp.org

Latsany Phakdisoth
Programme analyst Poverty Reduction Unit - UNDP
latsany.phakdisoth@undp.org

Suripaphone Meys
Trade Analyst - ministry of Industry and Commerce
suripaphone.m@laosaft.org

Sengphanomchone Inthasane
Director of Foreign Aid Division - Ministry of Industry and Commerce
sengphanomchone.i@laomoic.org

Franck Caussin
International Project Coordinator - Department of Trade Promotion and Product Development - UNOPS
franck_caussin@hotmail.com

Sengxay Phousinghoa
PSD Advisor Ministry of Industry and Commerce
sengxay.p@laosaft.org

Sirisamphanh Vorachiti
Director General Ministry of Industry and Commerce
sirisamphanh.v@laomoic.org

Stefan Lock
Head of Cooperation Delegation of the European Union to Laos
Stefan.LOCK@ec.europa.eu

Konesawang Nghardsaysone
Trade Analyst - The World Bank
knghardsaysone@worldbank.org

Keiko Miwa
Country Manager - The World Bank
kmiwa@worldbank.org

Sitha Phouyavong
Director General Department of Intellectual Property Department - Ministry of Science and Technology
sitha@most.gov.la

Viengthong Vongthavilay
Deputy Director General Department of Standardization and Metrology - Ministry of Science and Technology
Vongthavilay@yahoo.com

Khamphone Keodalavong
Director of Industrial Environment and Chemistry Division - Ministry of Industry and Commerce
kkdalavong@yahoo.com

Sisomphet Nhoybouakong
Director General Department Standardization & Metrology - Ministry of Science and Technology
nsisomphet@most.gov.la

Somvang Ninthavong
Director General Trade and Product Promotion Department - Ministry of Industry and Commerce
somvang.n@laomoic.org

Somchith Inthamith
Vice Minister of Planning and Investment
somchith57@yahoo.com

Malaithong Kommasith
Director General Department of Planning and Cooperation - Ministry of Science and Technology
mkommasith@gmail.com

Saysana Sayakone
Deputy director General Foreign Trade Policy Department - Ministry of Industry and Commerce
saysana.s@laomoic.org

Khankeo Moonvong
Programme Officer Delegation of the European Union to Laos
Khankeo.MOONVONG@eeas.europa.eu

Manohack Rasachack
Director General Department of Industry and Handicrafts - Ministry of Industry and Commerce
hackrasa@yahoo.com

Viengphone Viravong
Deputy Director General Department of Industry and Handicrafts - Ministry of Industry and Commerce
viengphone2010@hotmail.com

Thongdam Khounoudom
Director Products Standard Division - Department of Industry & Handicraft - Ministry of Industry & Commerce
thongdamk@hotmail.com

Souksavath Sihapanya
Director of Quality Management Center - Department of Standardization and Metrology - Ministry of Science and Technology
souksavath70@yahoo.com

Richard Record
Trade Specialist - The World Bank
rrecord@worldbank.org

Somphong Soulivanh
Deputy Director General Department of Industry and Handicrafts - Ministry of Industry and Commerce
somsoulivanh@yahoo.com

Phonevanh Outhavong
Deputy Director General - NSEDP Project Manager - Ministry of Planning and Investment Planning Department
phonevanh@yahoo.com

Arounviseth Sayaseng
Investment Promotion Advisor - Sustainable Economic Development - GIZ
arounviseth.sayaseng@giz.de

Sommai Faming
Head of UNIDO Operations, Lao PDR
S.Faming@unido.org

Armin Hofmann
Programme Director - Sustainable Economic Development
armin.hofmann@giz.de

Petra Polgar
Project Manager - Supporting Laos' Integration into Regional Markets
petra.polgar@giz.de

One-Sy Boutsivongsakd
Adviser of Lao National chamber of Commerce and Industry
onesyb09@gmail.com

Khankeo Moonvong
Programme Officer - Delegation of the European Union to Laos
Khankeo.MOONVONG@ec.europa.eu

Michel Goffin
Charge d'Affairess - Delegation of the European Union to Laos
Michel.GOFFIN@eeas.europa.eu

Sengnimith Chounlamanay
General Manager - Poysian Bulgogee Restaurant
poysianvientiane@gmail.com

Trade and Skills

Empowering women to lead others in the garment sector and support her family

Read more › More impact stories ›