At the global level, the EIF governance structure consists of a global forum for transparency (the Steering Committee), a decision-making body (the EIF Board) and an implementing arm (the EIF Executive Secretariat).

The EIF Steering Committee reviews the overall effectiveness of the partnership, including the performance of all the partners, and ensures transparency of the EIF process. The EIFSC is made up of all the LDCs, all EIF Donors, the EIF Core Agencies, and, ex officio, the Executive Secretariat and the Trust Fund Manager and others granted observer status by the EIF Board.

The EIF Board is the key strategic decision-making body for the EIF programme to provide support, operational and financial oversight and policy direction. It delegates management decisions under specified objectives and mandates to the Executive Director of the Executive Secretariat, who is accountable to the EIF Board. The EIF Board is made up of three capital‑based LDC representatives and three EIF Donor representatives, as well as of members from the EIF Core and Observer Agencies and of the Executive Director and the TFM Executive Officer as ex officio members.

The Executive Secretariat, administratively housed at the WTO, works in support of the programme together with the contracted Trust Fund Manager.

At the national level:

  • The national EIF Focal Point leads the EIF process in‑country. He or she is a senior government official appointed by the LDC and supported by a National Implementation Team  embedded in the government structure. The national team is responsible for timely, efficient and effective delivery of projects and for advising the Focal Point and the Ministry's hierarchy in championing the trade agenda.

  • The EIF Donor Facilitator works with the Focal Point to facilitate donor coordination and the donor‑government dialogue on trade issues and Aid forTrade.  He or she is a representative from a donor active in supporting the LDC's trade agenda and is identified by the government and other donors.

  • The EIF National Steering Committee has two main fuctions:

  • A national consultative and coordinative mechanism on trade, based on a broad representation by high-level officials which makes it the national forum for the trade dialogue with relevant stakeholders; and

  • An Aid for Trade steering committee, including for EIF projects, with a technical representation enabling the monitoring the implementation of the projects.