Donors

For more information, please contact:
EIF Secretariat
eif.secretariat@wto.org

The EIF’s role as supporting the coordination of on-the-ground Aid for Trade efforts would not be possible without the buy-in from Donors that their representation facilitates. Nonetheless, with funds less readily available and more closely scrutinized, the ability of an LDC to identify, design and pitch programmes that can generate sustained, value for money impact on poverty is critical. As a result, avoiding duplication, waste and fraud while building mutually reinforcing partnerships on the ground has never been more important. In this context, the EIF provides a platform for donors to increase synergies and coordinate efforts. By the end of 2015, 79% of the EIF Countries with Tier 1 projects related to providing support for EIF National Implementation Arrangements had a mechanism to monitor donor trade-related activities to ensure coordination.

The EIF is currently supported by 24 country donors through contributions to the EIF Multi-Donor Trust Fund.

EIF Donor Facilitators 

The EIF relies on a number of Donor Facilitators, who work with the Focal Points on the ground to facilitate donor coordination and donor/government dialogue on trade issues and Aid for Trade. The Donor Facilitator is a representative from the donor community active in supporting an LDCs’ trade agenda and is identified by the government and other donors. For more information on how to become a donor facilitator, please contact eif.secretariat@wto.org .

Marta Neves Abrantes
Attaché, Trade and Private Sector Development, EU Delegation to Cambodia
Marta.ABRANTES@eeas.europa.eu
Cambodia

Severine ARNAL
Donor Facilitator, Delegation of the European Union to Cabo Verde
severine.arnal@eeas.europa.eu
Cabo Verde

Said Mohamed Artan
Donor Facilitator, UNDP, Country economist (Economiste national)
artan.said@undp.org
Djibouti

Cristina BANUTA
Donor Facilitator, Delegation of the European Union to Zambia
Cristina.BANUTA@eeas.europa.eu
Zambia

Sarah Bloom
EIF Donor Facilitator, Department for International Development, UK
s-bloom@dfid.gov.uk
Tanzania

Mariama Ciré Sylla
Donor Facilitator, World Bank/IFC
mcsylla@ifc.org
Guinea

Briac DEFFOBIS
Donor Facilitator, European Commission
briac.deffobis@ec.europa.eu
Central African Republic

Steven Dimitriyev
Donor Facilitator,World Bank
sdimitriyev@worldbank.org
Tanzania

Massimo Diomedi Camassei
Donor Facilitator, Delegation of the European Union to Uganda
Massimo.DIOMEDI-CAMASSEI@eeas.europa.eu
Uganda

Eneida Fernandes
Donor Facilitator, World Bank
efernandes1@worldbank.org
Madagascar

Amanda Fong
Donor Facilitator, USAID
afong@usaid.gov
Mozambique

Bryan Fornari
Donor Facilitator, Delegation of the European Union to Lao PDR
Delegation-laos@eeas.europa.eu
Lao People’s Democratic Republic

Anna Gibson
Donor Facilitator, Department for International Development, UK
A-Gibson@dfid.gov.uk
Rwanda

Elisabeth Harleman
Counsellor, Head of Development Cooperation, Embassy of Sweden
elisabeth.harleman@gov.se
Liberia, Republic of

John IRONS
Donor Facilitator, USAID
jirons@usaid.gov
Mozambique

Lita Lui
Donor Facilitator, Ministry of Finance, Samoa
lita.lui@mof.gov.ws
Samoa

Alexis MACLET
Donor Facilitator, Embassy of France
alexis.maclet@diplomatie.gouv.fr
Comoros

Ali Madai
Donor Facilitator, United Nations Development Programme
ali.madai@undp.org
Chad

Mohamed Limam Malick
Donor Facilitator, Delegation of the European Union to Mauritania
limam.malick@eeas.europa.eu
Mauritania

Abdoul Aziz MBAYE
Alternative Donor Facilitator
abdoul-aziz.mbaye@eeas.europa.eu
Solomon Islands

Maria.L. Michele Rescaldini
Donor Facilitator, Delegation of the European Union to Sudan,Programme M. Resilience and SD
michele.rescaldini@eeas.europa.eu
Sudan

Cristina Modoran
cristina.modoran@ec.europa.eu
Central African Republic

Bocar Niels Bossen
Donor Facilitator, Embassy of Denmark, Counsellor Private Sector
bocaba@um.dk
Mali

Matilda PALAMULENI
Donor Facilitator, Delegation of the European Union to the Republic of Malawi
Matilda.PALAMULENI@eeas.europa.eu
Malawi

Lorenzo Pascotto
Donor Facilitator, Delegation of the European Union to Myanmar
Lorenzo.PASCOTTO@eeas.europa.eu
Myanmar

Kalay PATTY
Donor Facilitator, Delegation of the European Union to DR Congo
Kalay.PATTY@eeas.europa.eu
Democratic Republic of the Congo

David QUENUM
Donor Facilitator, Embassy of The Netherlands in Cotonou
cot@minbuza.nl
Benin

Tom Ratsakatika
EIF Donor Facilitator, Department for International Development, UK
T-Ratsakatika@dfid.gov.uk
Sierra Leone

Andreas Röttger
EIF Donor Facilitator, Head of Cooperation Delegation of the European Union to Nepal
andreas.roettger@eeas.europa.eu
Nepal

Prutus Sackie
National Program Officer, Embassy of Sweden, Liberia
prutus.sackie@gov.se
Liberia, Republic of

Idrissa SANOUSSI
Donor Facilitator, UNDP
idrissa.sanoussi@undp.org
Sao Tomé and Principe

Ergin SONER
Donor Facilitator, Embassy of Turkey
esoner@mfa.gov.tr
The Gambia

Stanislav Toshkov
Donor Facilitator, Delegation of the European Union to Afghanistan
stanislav.toshkov@eeas.europa.eu
Afghanistan

Patrick TUIMALEALIIFANO
Donor Facilitator, UNDP
patrick.tuimalealiifano@undp.org
Tuvalu

Juan José VILLA CHACÓN
EIF Donor Facilitator, Delegation of the European Union to the Republic of Niger
Juan.VILLA-CHACON@eeas.europa.eu
Niger

Ephraim ZEWDIE
Donor Facilitator, Delegation of the European Union to Ethiopia
Ephraim.ZEWDIE@eeas.europa.eu
Ethiopia

24 Country Donors

Australia

Belgium

Canada

Denmark

Estonia

European Commission

Finland

France

Germany

Hungary

Iceland

Ireland

Japan

Korea, Republic of

Luxembourg

Netherlands

Norway

Saudi Arabia, Kingdom of

Spain

Sweden

Switzerland

Turkey

United Kingdom

United States of America

“ Norway places great importance on the integration of the Least Developed Countries into the Multilateral Trading System. Trade is vital for development. At the same time, development assistance is necessary for the LDCs' ability to take advantage of market access in other countries. The EIF is an important instrument and has for many years been Norway's main channel for targeted, trade-related development assistance to many LDCs.”

Norway, Foreign Minister, Børge Brende

“ As a strong proponent for free and fair trade, Sweden believes that the EIF strengthens the opportunities for the LDCs to take full advantage of existing and future prospects for development through trade. We are encouraged by the EIF's commitment to take into account the lessons learned during EIF Phase One, to strengthen the focus on leveraging resources as well as improving monitoring and evaluation. Promoting gender equality and inclusive trade is crucial to maximize the impact of trade and development activities on people's livelihoods. It is therefore promising that this is one of the EIF's four overarching strategic goals in 2016-2018.”

Sweden, Minister for EU Affairs and Trade Policy, Ann Linde